The DPC is managed by six full time staff and is governed by a board of directors.


  • Richard Ovenden, Bodleian Library, University of Oxford


  • Laura Mitchell, National Records Scotland - Chair
  • Kevin Ashley, Digital Curation Centre - Vice Chair
  • Tim Keefe, Trinity College Dublin - Financial Director
  • Juan Bicarregui, RCUK
  • Rachel Bruce, Jisc
  • Montserrat Canela, UNHCR
  • Tracey Clarke, University of Sheffield
  • Susan Corrigall, National Records Scotland
  • Ineke Deserno, NATO
  • Stuart Lewis, National Library of Scotland
  • Sally McInnes, National Library of Wales
  • Ben Outhwaite, Cambridge University
  • Maureen Pennock, British Library
  • Michael Popham, University of Oxford
  • John Sheridan, The National Archives
  • Bridget Sisk, United Nations
  • Hania Smerecka, Lloyds Banking Group
  • Heather Stanley, PRONI
  • Simon Tucker, Nuclear Decommisioning Authority
  • Claire Tunstall, Unilever
  • Lorna Williams, Bank of England
  • Jane Winters, University of London
  • tba, European Central Bank
  • tba, University of GlasgowBoard Sub-Committees

Board Sub-Committees

The DPC Board has delegated detailed oversight of the DPC's work to four sub-committees drawn from the membership reporting every 3 months or so.  There is a sub-committee for each of the DPC's strategic goals.  Each one is chaired by a Board director, has 5-8 member representatives and each one supports the work of a DPC staff member. The sub-committees make important decisions about the work of the coalition such as the awards of grants or review of funding proposals, and they have detailed involvement in the development of our workplan in each area.

  • Advocacy and Communications Sub-Committee (Chair: Jane Winters)
  • Partnership and Sustainability Sub-Committee (Chair: Tim Keefe)
  • Research and Practice Sub-Committee (Chair: Tracey Clarke)
  • Workforce Development and Skills Sub-Committee (Chair: Lorna Williams)


  • William Kilbride, Executive Director
  • Paul Wheatley, Head of Research and Practice
  • Sara Day Thomson, Project Officer
  • Alyson Campbell, Business Manager
  • Sharon McMeekin, Head of Training and Skills
  • Sarah Middleton, Head of Communications and Advocacy

Previous Staff and Office Holders

  • Neil Beagrie (Secretary 2002-2003)
  • Frances Boyle (Executive Director 2008-2009)
  • Dame Lynne Brindley (Chair 2002-2006)
  • Reg Carr (Vice Chair 2002-2005)
  • Maggie Jones (Secretary 2003 - 2006)
  • Patricia Kernghan (Vice Chair 2011)
  • Patricia Killiard (Vice Chair 2012)
  • Bruno Longmore (Vice Chair 2006-2010, Acting Chair 2009)
  • Ronald Milne (Vice Chair 2005- 2006, Chair 2006-2009)
  • Richard Ovenden (Chair 2009-2013)
  • Najla Semple (Secretary 2006-2007)

Scroll to top